ASA honors member, industry achievements at 2016 Celebration of Excellence

Sept. 2, 2016
The Automotive Service Association (ASA) held its “Celebration of Excellence” awards honoring the achievements of ASA members and its industry partners.
The Automotive Service Association (ASA) held its “Celebration of Excellence” awards ceremony Aug. 12 at the Sheraton Park Hotel in Anaheim, Calif. Celebration of Excellence is a traditional awards ceremony honoring the achievements of ASA members and its industry partners. Alongside the awards ceremony, the Automotive Management Institute (AMi), held its annual graduation ceremony for its recent graduates and recognition of its partners.
AMi President Jeff Peevy, AAM, recognized the 23 graduates who earned the Accredited Automotive Manager (AAM) designation this year. And this year’s event also recognized the 59 members of its first graduating class of Accredited Master Automotive Manager for both Mechanical and Collision Repair industry segments.

Dan Risley, ASA president and executive director, hosted the program and began by thanking the event’s sponsors, Advance Auto Parts and 10 Missions Media. This year’s recognized leaders included:

  • Joel Baxter, AAM, owner of B&B Auto in Bremerton, Wash., received the ASA Alpha Award, recognizing an ASA Mechanical Division member for his or her generous and far-reaching contributions to the automotive service industry.
  • Scott Schriber, publisher of BodyShop Business and a variety of collision publications from Babcox Media, received the ASA Phoenix Award recognizing an ASA Collision Division member for his or her contributions to the automotive service industry.
  • Ray Fisher, AAM, executive director of ASA-Michigan, was recognized for the second year in a row for his efforts in the Michigan state legislature with the ASA Legislative Award, recognizing those who have made an impact on legislative and regulatory activities.
  • The Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers (The Alliance) was recognized for its support of the new industry scan tool resource,, and its work on telematics issues with the ASA Partnership Award, which recognizes an individual, group or company that has voluntarily worked with ASA to further the industry and the association.
  • Jon Beck, business development manager, accepted the ASA Benefit Provider of the Year award on behalf of AutoZone. This award is presented to an ASA Sponsored Benefit Provider in appreciation of its relationship with ASA, and for the value, quality and professional service it offers ASA members.
  • The ASA Affiliate of the Year reflects the dedication to our membership and the important role our affiliates play in making ASA the voice of the automotive service and collision repair communities. ASA-Midwest was recognized for its 25 years of leadership in education and exemplifying ASA’s ideals of excellence and professionalism. Sheri Hamilton, AAM, executive director, accepted the award on behalf of the affiliate, along with members of the ASA-Midwest delegation.
  • The ASA Communicator of the Year recognizes an individual for outstanding effort in using different communication vehicles to deliver important messages on policy, legislation, technology and vision to advance professionalism and excellence within the automotive service and repair industry. Pete Rudloff, owner of Pete’s Garage in Newark, Del., was recognized for his contributions to AutoInc. magazine on technical and educational content as it relates to scan tools, as well as participation on a variety of projects including the development of
  • The Chairman’s Award of Excellence recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to ASA and the automotive repair industry. During a moving presentation, Donny Seyfer, AAM, ASA chairman, presented the award to his father, Don Seyfer, AAM, who had previously served as ASA chairman.

In addition to the ASA awards, BodyShop Business, a key industry supporter of ASA’s, recognized two collision repair “visionaries” who have experienced great success through innovative thinking, overcoming challenges and perseverance. The BodyShop Business Collision Repair Single-Shop Executive of the Year went to April Lausch, manager of Faulkner BMW, Lancaster, Pa., and the BodyShop Business Collision Repair Multi-Shop Executive of the Year went to Harry Moppert Sr., president of Moppert Bros. Auto Collision Specialists, Morton, Pa.

ASA’s next awards program will take place in conjunction with the association’s annual trade shows – the International Autobody Congress and Exposition (NACE) and the Congress of Automotive Repair and Service (CARS). Both shows will be held Aug. 2-4, 2017, at the Georgia World Congress in Atlanta.

Voice Your Opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Vehicle Service Pros, create an account today!