CAWA announces 2014-2015 scholarship winners

July 21, 2014
CAWA provided $10,000 in scholarships this year to eleven individuals.

CAWA, Representing the Automotive Parts Industry, is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2014-2015 scholarship awards. CAWA provided $10,000 in scholarships this year to eleven individuals. “Once again, CAWA is proud to assist these young people in pursuing their careers in the automotive aftermarket”, said Rodney Pierini, President and CEO, in announcing the awards. “We have awardees from the three states we represent”, he concluded.

Recipients of the scholarships include:

  • $1,500 – Ashley Strunk, The Mort Schwartz Award – Universal Technical Institute
  • $1,000 – Christian Luna – Chabot College
  • $1,000 – Emily Lowdermilk – De Anza College
  • $1,000 – Kein Thay – Pasadena City College
  • $1,000 – Stephanie Yim – Chabot College
  • $750 – Jacob Calvillo – Weber State University
  • $750 – Jesse Phillips – Skyline College
  • $750 – Jonas Banuelos – Rio Hondo College
  • $750 – Matthew Walsh – Gateway Community College
  • $750 – Sandra Albarran Santos – Gateway Community College
  • $750 – Tonantzin Nordwall – Universal Technical Institute

The primary scholarship fundraising effort by CAWA is its annual dinner meeting held the Sunday night before the AAPEX and SEMA shows. This year it will be held at the Paris Hotel in Las Vegas on November 2, 2014. Scholarship funding also comes, in part, from a grant provided by the University of the Aftermarket Foundation.

Voice Your Opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Vehicle Service Pros, create an account today!