Motorcraft Sponsors AAA National Youth Auto Skills Competition

Jan. 1, 2020
America’s top young automotive minds were on display as two-student teams representing all 50 states engaged in a race against the clock at the 64th annual Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills National Finals.

America’s top young automotive minds were on display as two-student teams representing all 50 states engaged in a race against the clock – and one another – in an effort to earn the title of National Champion at the 64th annual Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills National Finals. The event, sponsored by Motorcraft, was held at Ford World Headquarters on June 11.  

When the dust settled, the duo of Logan Boyle and Cody Collins from Vale High School in Vale, Ore., claimed the crown of America’s top auto technicians, registering the day’s top score under the guidance of instructor Drew Barnes.

“Motorcraft is proud to be the official sponsor of a competition that engages young people who are interested in becoming the technicians of tomorrow,” said Lori Dunn, National Motorcraft Marketing Manager. “As automotive technology becomes more and more advanced, it is critical that we excite and inspire these kids to get the training they need to compete for jobs in the future.”

With nearly $12 million dollars in scholarship prizes in the balance, state winners gathered in Dearborn to solve “real-world” automotive challenges – both digital and mechanical – in a timed competition that required a quick mind and steady hands as top auto students worked with wrenches and computers alike. With automotive sales increasing and innovative technologies becoming a bigger part of the manufacturing process, the Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills competition is shaping the next generation of auto technicians who will work on these vehicles.

“From connected cars to alternative fuels, automotive technology is advancing at a faster pace than we have ever seen and tomorrow’s technicians need to be savvy, innovative and eager,” said Marshall L. Doney, AAA Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer. “The Ford/AAA Auto Skills competition develops future technicians who will ensure motorists will receive access to quality repair.” 

In addition to scholarships, the National Champion Oregon team will enjoy an immersive, weeklong job shadow experience with 2011 Daytona 500® winner Trevor Bayne and his Wood Brothers Racing team, as they prepare the No. 21 Motorcraft®/Quick Lane® Ford Fusion car for the Coke Zero 400 in Daytona Beach, Fla. – the famous site of Bayne’s spectacular win at age 20.

Beginning with a shotgun start, the student competitors (all paired in two-person teams) raced to their vehicles to review a work order that challenged them to diagnose and repair a number of purposefully placed “bugs” ranging from digital to mechanical and electrical. Once the repairs were completed, it was a race to shut the hood, fire up the engine and steer the vehicle across the finish line – where a scrutinizing judging team awaited.

To earn the National Title, Vale High School earned a “perfect car” score by flawlessly repairing all the “bugs” without any demerits. Combined with the results of a written examination taken on June 10, their score allowed them to hoist the trophy as national champions. 

The top-10 placing teams for the 2013 Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills National Finals were:


High School





1. Oregon

Vale High School


Logan Boyle

Cody Collins

Drew Barnes

2. Virginia

Fauquier High School


Samuel Eleazer

Matthew Jacobs

Harlan Freeman

3. Maryland

Eastern Technical High School


Anthony Critcher

Brik Wisniewski

Eldridge Watts

4. Illinois

Addison Trail High School


Roman Flores

Ashten Reich

Keith Santini

5. Hawaii

Maui High School


Mitchell Borge

Lawrence Paet

Shannon Rowe

6. Kentucky

Lee County Area Technology Center


Bradley Creech

Corey Lykins

John Lucas

7. Oklahoma

Eastern Oklahoma County Technology  Center


Nicholas Brown

Ryan Jackson

Jim Lafevers

8. Kansas

Newton High School


Kenton Bliss

Titus Minkevitch

Robert Ziegler

9. Arizona

Marana High School


Evan Cloutier

Kevin Reich

Donald Zell

10. Connecticut

Platt Technical High School


Giorgio Favia

Michael Tracz

Kirk Stankiewicz

Voice Your Opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Vehicle Service Pros, create an account today!