TMC recognizes Brent Hilton with leadership award

American Trucking Associations’ Technology & Maintenance Council recognized Brent Hilton, director of maintenance for Maverick Transportation, Little Rock, Ark., with its Peggy Fisher Study Group Leadership Award during the Council’s 2014 Annual Meeting, Mar. 10-13, in Nashville, Tenn.

The award, established in 1986 and named after its first recipient, honors excellence in management of TMC study group activity. To earn this award, candidates must demonstrate distinguished service as a study group chairman for three years, earn the respect of their peers, and demonstrate leadership in the creation of new recommended practices and organizing technical programs. Since 1986, only 16 individuals have received the honor.

Hilton, a TMC member for more than 15 years, has served the council in a variety of roles. From 2001 to 2006, he was chairman of TMC's S.7 Trailers, Bodies and Material Handling Study Group, having helped develop several recommended practices, including RP 738, "Spec’ing Guidelines for Cargo Securement Systems Used on Flatbed Vehicles." and RP 739, "Maintenance, Inspection and Operating Guidelines for Cargo Securement Systems Used on Flatbed Vehicles."

He served on TMC's board of directors beginning in 2006, serving as chairman of the Study Group Committee, vice chairman & chairman of meeting, and the became TMC General Chairman and Treasurer in 2008. He currently is a director at large for TMC's board of directors and is chairman of TMC's Future Truck Committee.

This year’s selection committee included: Chairman David Foster; Al Cohn, Pressure Systems International; Ken Calhoun, Truck Centers of Arkansas; and Tony Tierney, BorgWarner.