Oklahoma SuperTech2012 competition includes technicians and students

Jonathon Love, City of Oklahoma City, won first place honors at the Oklahoma SuperTech2012 competition held recently at Francis Tuttle Technology Center in Oklahoma City. Love topped the field of 13 technicians and seven diesel students challenged with a written test and hands-on competition in 11 different skill areas. Randall Hillburn, Swift Transportation, and Max Dennis, City of Oklahoma City, placed 2nd and 3rd. Skill Station Winners were Love – ABS; Hilburn - Engine, Repair Order, Tires, and Wheel End; Dennis - Brakes, Preventive Maintenance Inspection, and Written Test; and Clarence Preston, Cummins Southern Plains – Tire Inflation Systems.

A Repair Order Skill Station, manned by Oklahoma Highway Patrol Officers, was added this year to strengthen the participant's knowledge of CSA documentation and roadside inspection criteria. Technicians were provided with an Inspection Violation Report and asked to interpret the data on the form and answer questions about items needing repair and specific adjustments necessary to meet CSA guidelines.

Seven secondary and post-secondary students and one instructor also took part in the competition. Jacob Gaylor, Mid-America Technology Center, won the student competition.  Bailey Glenn and Wade Hinton from Gordon Cooper Technology Center placed 2nd and 3rd. Skill station winners were Gaylor – Fasteners, Hinton – Electronic Service Information, and Nathaniel Drane, Gordon Cooper Technology Center – Electrical.

Oklahoma opened the state SuperTech competition to students three years ago in order to support local diesel technology programs and help the transition from school to workplace. Students gain confidence in what they have learned and develop additional skills through participation in the competition. They are also exposed to experienced technicians who become valuable role models. In addition to SuperTech, students are also encouraged to participate in technician training programs and other events sponsored by the OTA TMC throughout the year.

OK SuperTech 2012 was a collaborative effort with support from all segments of the trucking industry. Borg Warner, Bruckner Truck, OTL-UPT, and Rush Truck led the way as Gold Sponsors for the competition. A number of other national and local companies provided additional sponsorships, prizes, equipment, judges, and goodie bag gifts for the contestants including Alcoa, Allison Transmission, ATC Freightliner, A Weldor's Supply, BG Products, Blumenthals, CRST, Cummins Southern Plains, Driver's Legal Aid, Francis Tuttle Technology Center, Mitchell One, Navistar, P.S.I , Reliance Supply, SAF Holland, Stemco, TA-Petro, USPS-NCED, Utility Trailer, Webb Wheel Products, and WyoTech.