TMC gives Peggy Fisher Study Group Leadership Award

David Foster, vice president of maintenance for Southeastern Freight Lines, was named recipient of the Technology & Maintenance Council’s Peggy Fisher Study Group Leadership Award during the Council’s 2012 Annual Meeting in Tampa, Fla., Feb. 20-23.

The award, established in 1986 and named after its first recipient, recognizes an individual for outstanding leadership as Study Group Chairman as well as outstanding leadership and contributions to TMC and the transportation industry. To earn this award, a candidate must demonstrate distinguished service as a study group chairman for three years, earned the respect of his peers, and demonstrated leadership in the creation of new recommended practices and organizing technical programs. Since 1986, only 14 individuals have received the honor.

Foster, a TMC member since 1990, has served the Council in nearly every possible capacity. He led the Council’s S.11 Vehicle Energy Conservation Study Group for several years; served as the group’s first vice chairman before that, and has served as a task force chairman for several study groups. He was elected to TMC’s board of directors in 1995, rising in three years to the rank of TMC general chairman and treasurer. He continued his contribution to the Council as a past chairman, and in 2011 again became a study group chairman for the S.3 Engines Study Group.