AEMP seeks 2012 Fleet Masters and Technician of the Year nominations

AEMP (Association of Equipment Management Professionals), the premier organization for asset management professionals of off-road fleets, is accepting applications and nominations for the annual Fleet Masters and Technician of the Year Awards. The 2012 honors will be presented at AEMP’s 30th Management Conference and Annual Meeting, March 18-21 in Scottsdale, Ariz. Applications must be completed and postmarked, or submitted online no later than Jan. 13.

For nearly a decade, AEMP and its Strategic Alliance Partners have been presenting the Fleet Masters award with Construction Equipment magazine. The award acknowledges equipment professionals in both the public and private sectors who demonstrate excellence in meeting the unique challenges inherent to delivering cost-effective and cutting-edge management of mixed fleets for both on-road and off-road equipment.

In 2011, Michael Munson, Equipment Director for Austin Bridge & Road, and Guy Gordon, CEM, Director of Asset Management for Insituform Technologies, accepted the Fleet Masters Awards on behalf of their teams.

The Technician of the Year award is sponsored by the AEMP Foundation and John Deere. 2012 marks the 23rd year of the honor, which is presented to one winner from each the public and private sector. This award is designed to acknowledge professionals who exhibit technical skills, and innovative troubleshooting and diagnostic capabilities, as well as those who make significant contributions to the equipment technician profession. The 2011 private sector winner was Tom Hellmers of Murphy Tractors and Equipment and the public sector award went to Ron Bradly with Sarasota County Fleet Services Department.

Contact Sara Sanderman, vice-president of program development with any questions regarding submission criteria. Sanderman can be reached at 970.384.0510 ext. 205 or For additional information on the awards and to see a list of past winners, please visit