Training Ground

Focused technician skills competitions can be a farm team for the TMCSuperTech


One way to get technicians ready for North America’s premier skills competition for professional commercial vehicle technicians - the TMCSuperTech - is by establishing a corporate, regional or state technician skills competition based on the TMCSuperTech model.

In this way, participants in these competitions will have some training and experience and be better prepared to compete at the national level in the Technology & Maintenance Council’s SuperTech. It should be noted that winners of state maintenance council technician skills competitions automatically qualify for the event.

TMC publishes a guidebook, “How to Conduct a Technician Skills Competition,” to help state trucking associations, fleets and service/dealer centers establish professional technician skills competitions. Along with providing step-by-step guidance, advice and recommendations, the publication contains sample forms, instructions for judges, scoring sheets and much more.

“How to Conduct a Technician Skills Competition” may be downloaded for free from TMC’s website: http://tmc.truckline.com. The publication can be found at the bottom of the “TMC News” section.

Here are the state maintenance councils that currently conduct a professional technician skills competition:

ARKANSAS
Arkansas Maintenance &
Technology Council
Chairman: Tim Wilson
Phone: (479) 361-5217
Email: wilst@pamt.com
Website: www.arkansastrucking.com

CALIFORNIA
California Trucking Association
Chairman: Mike Siebert
Phone: (949) 413- 6632
Email: mike.siebert@apexlogisticsllc.com
Website: www.caltrux.org

DELAWARE
Delaware Motor Transport Association
Co-Chairman: Scott Malcolm
Phone: (302) 659-5294
Email: gsmalco@wal-mart.com
Website: www.dmta1.com

FLORIDA
Florida Trucking Association
Co-Chairman: Rob Carryl
Phone: (904) 422-1273
Email: rob.carryl@reliancesupply.com
Website: www.fltrucking.org

INDIANA
Indiana Motor Truck Association
Co-Chairman: Bobby Barger
Phone: (812) 523-5686
Email: bobby.barger@wal-mart.com
Website: www.imtaonline.net

KANSAS
Kansas Motor Truck Association
Chairman: Warren Krauss
Phone: (785) 267-1641
Email: warrenk@kmca.org
Website: www.kmca.org

KENTUCKY
Kentucky Motor Transport Association
Chairman: David Wittery
Phone: (502) 584-5226
Email: n/a
Website: www.kmta.net

MONTANA
Motor Carriers of Montana
(Its competition includes the Colorado, Idaho, Utah and Wyoming state trucking associations.)
Chairman: Frank Molodecki
Phone: (406) 896-3489
Email: frankm@diversifiedtruckleasing.com
Website: www.mttrucking.org

NEBRASKA
Nebraska Trucking Association
Chairman: Suzanne Eggert
Phone: (402) 476-8504
Email: seggert@nebtrucking.com
Website: www.nebtrucking.com

NEW YORK
New York State Motor Truck Association
Chairman: Karen Kennett
Phone: (518) 458-9696
Email: kkennett@nytrucks.org
Website: www.nytrucks.org

OKLAHOMA
Oklahoma Trucking Association
Chairman: Bonne Karim
Phone: (405) 366-4331
Email: bonne.b.karim@usps.gov
Website: www.oktrucking.org

OREGON
Oregon Trucking Associations
Chairman: Dean Moyer
Phone: (503) 209-3312
Email: dmoyer@unifiedgrocers.com
Website: www.ortrucking.org

SOUTH CAROLINA
South Carolina Trucking Association
Chairman: Jeffrey Eargle
Phone: (803) 799-0047
Email: earglej@yahoo.com
Website: www.sctrucking.org

TENNESSEE
Tennessee Trucking Association
Chairman: Glen McDonald
Phone: (901) 375-8501
Email: gmcdonald@ozark.com
Website: www.tntrucking.org

TEXAS
Texas Motor Transportation Association
Chairman: Lance Shillingburg
Phone: (512) 478-2541
Email: lance@tmta.com
Website: www.tmta.com

We Recommend